Share this page :

Matěj Vydra scored the goal that gave us the lead last Sunday against Newcastle and his performance, despite the defeat, was considered the best both in the man of the match vote and the player ratings.

He won the man of the match by some distance, polling 58% of the vote ahead of strike partner Chris Wood who won a 19% share. Dwight McNeil was third with 8% while midfielder Ashley Westwood took fourth place with 4% of the vote.

The two strikers won the first two places in the player ratings too although it was somewhat closer. Again Vydra was the winner with a rating of 7.02 out of 10, followed by Wood who scored 6.86. Goalkeeper Bailey Peacock-Farrell, who came in for the injured Nick Pope, was third with 6.06 and just behind him McNeil took fourth place with a rating of 6.04 out of 10.

This has given Vydra ten points towards the Up the Clarets Player of the Year which has moved him ahead of three players into fourth place. There are six points for Wood, three for McNeil, two for Peacock-Farrell and one point for Westwood.

Vydra is just point ahead of both McNeil and Charlie Taylor and now only 16 points behind third place Ben Mee with the top two remaining some distance away and leader Nick Pope’s position not affected by his absence.

The next vote will be underway this Sunday soon after the final whistle at Old Trafford while below is the Newcastle result and the current player of the year table.


58% – Matěj Vydra
19% – Chris Wood
8% – Dwight  McNeil
4% – Ashley Westwood
3% – James Tarkowski
2% – Erik Pieters
2% – Josh Brownhill
2% – Jόhann Berg Guðmundsson
1% – Bailey Peacock-Farrell
1% – Matt Lowton
0% – Ben Mee


7.02 – Matěj Vydra
6.86 – Chris Wood
6.06 – Bailey Peacock-Farrell
6.04 – Dwight McNeil
5.70 – Erik Pieters
5.62 – Matt Lowton
5.57 – Ben Mee
5.34 – Ashley Westwood
5.26 – James Tarkowski
5.19 – Jόhann Berg Guðmundsson
4.74 – Josh Brownhill


108: Nick Pope
100: James Tarkowski
78: Ben Mee
62: Matěj Vydra
61: Dwight McNeil & Charlie Taylor
57: Josh Brownhill
46: Matt Lowton
33: Chris Wood
25: Ashley Westwood
24: Bailey Peacock-Farrell & Jay Rodriguez
21: Erik Pieters
20: Robbie Brady
19: Kevin Long
16: Jimmy Dunne
15: Phil Bardsley & Jack Cork
10: Josh Benson & Will Norris
6: Bobby Thomas
5: Jόhann Berg Guðmundsson
4: Ashley Barnes
3: Dale Stephens
2: Joel Mumbongo
1: Anthony Glennon

Follow UpTheClarets:

Share this page :