Share this page :

Josh Brownhill turned in a man of the match performance against Liverpool recently and ten days later he repeated it with another performance against Tottenham Hotspur that won him top billing.

As was the case with the Liverpool game, Brownhill won the man of the match and player ratings double as the Clarets beat Spurs with a Ben Mee goal, a second successive win in four days.

Brownhill won 36% of the man of the match vote with goalscorer Mee in second place with a 19% share. That was just ahead of Dwight McNeil who was very much back in form; the wide man claimed 17% to take third place with Wout Weghorst coming fourth with 12% of the vote.

Those four players also won the first four places in the player ratings, and they finished in the same order. Brownhill had a rating of 8.84 out of ten to win the ratings with Mee scoring 8.76 in second place. McNeil had a rating of 8.62, just ahead of Weghorst whose rating was 8.57 out of ten and that gave them third and fourth places.

That has given Brownhill another ten points towards the Up the Clarets Player of the Year with Mee winning six points. McNeil collected four points with two points for striker Weghorst.

Again, as was the case from the Brighton game, it’s brought no changes at the top of the table where James Tarkowski still leads Charlie Taylor by seven points although McNeil has moved ahead of Maxwel Cornet into fifth place.

The Crystal Palace VOTE is still open and will remain so until the Leicester vote gets underway tomorrow. The Spurs result and the current player of the year table can be found below.


36% – Josh Brownhill
19% – Ben Mee
17% -Dwight McNeil
12% – Wout Weghorst
5% – Erik Pieters
3% – James Tarkowski
2% – Jack Cork
2% – Connor Roberts
1% – Aaron Lennon & Nick Pope
0% – Jay Rodriguez


8.84 – Josh Brownhill
8.76 – Ben Mee
8.62 – Dwight McNeil
8.57 – Wout Weghorst
8.50 – James Tarkowski
8.29 – Erik Pieters
8.21 – Connor Roberts
8.15 – Jack Cork
7.99 – Aaron Lennon
7.91 – Jay Rodriguez
7.78 – Nick Pope


73: James Tarkowski
66: Charlie Taylor
52: Nick Pope
50: Nathan Collins
48: Dwight McNeil
46: Maxwel Cornet
45: Ben Mee
36: Josh Brownhill
29: Aaron Lennon
26: Matt Lowton
20: Wayne Hennessey
19: Wout Weghorst
16: Jay Rodriguez
15: Connor Roberts
13: Jóhann Berg Guðmundsson
12: Matěj Vydra
11: Chris Wood
10: Phil Bardsley
7: Erik Pieters
6: Dale Stephens
5: Jack Cork
1: Ashley Westwood

Follow UpTheClarets:

Share this page :