Share this page :

1617 burnley steven defour 01 100x500Steven Defour, our record signing recently for a couple of weeks, made his third appearance for the Clarets last Saturday. I think it is fair to say he had a very good game and his goal, a real goal of the season contender, was one to savour.

Defour had a good game on his debut against Liverpool but this was an outstanding performance from the Belgian international who will soon become a firm favourite of the Turf Moor crowd if this form continues.

His performance won him both the man of the match vote and the player ratings.

He secured 63% of the vote, way ahead of Ben Mee who was second with a 28% share. That left little for the rest of the team which meant Tom Heaton and Stephen Ward took third and fourth places with just 3% and 2% of the vote respectively.

Defour was a comfortable winner in the player ratings too, receiving a rating of 8.40 out of 10. Mee again was second; his rating was 7.62 while third and fourth places went to Michael Keane and Ward; Keane scored 6.80 with Ward just behind with 6.58 out of 10.

This result has given Defour his first ever Up the Clarets Player of the Year points. He has won the maximum ten with Mee picking up six points while all of Heaton, Keane and Ward win two points. Those points have helped Mee move into second place just four points behind his defensive partner Keane and there are now five players into double figures.

The next vote and ratings will be Saturday after the Leicester game.

The Hull result and the current player of the year table are below.


63% – Steven Defour
28% – Ben Mee
3% – Tom Heaton
2% – Stephen Ward
1% – Dean Marney
1% – Sam Vokes
1% – Johann Berg Gudmundsson & Matt Lowton
0% – Michael Keane
0% – George Boyd & Andre Gray


8.40 – Steven Defour
7.62 – Ben Mee
6.80 – Michael Keane
6.58 – Stephen Ward
6.36 – Tom Heaton
6.22 – Dean Marney
5.87 – Matt Lowton
5.73 – Sam Vokes
5.16 – George Boyd
5.11 – Johann Berg Gudmundsson
4.91 – Andre Gray


19: Michael Keane
15: Ben Mee
14: Dean Marney
12: Tom Heaton
10: Steven Defour
8: Andre Gray
6: Aiden O’Neill
4: Sam Vokes
2: Stephen Ward

Follow UpTheClarets:

Share this page :