Share this page :

Arijanet Muric returned in goal for the first time this season in a league game and went on to win both the man of the match and player ratings convincingly as the Clarets won at home for only the second time this season with a 2-1 victory against Brentford.

Two first half saves in particular, with us leading 1-0, stood out and he was denied a clean sheet on his return when Kristoffer Ajer pulled a goal back for Brentford.

He polled 62% of the man of the match vote with Vitinho the only other player to reach double figures having secured a 19% share. Josh Cullen, now very much established back in the midfield, was third with 8% and Lorenz Assignon took fourth place with 3% of the vote.

Three of those four took the top three places again in the player ratings. Muric was the clear winner with a rating of 8.50 out of ten, the third highest rating all season behind Lyle Foster (8.91 at Aston Villa) and James Trafford (8.81 at Brighton). Cullen was second in the ratings with 7.71 with Vitinho just behind in third place with 7.68. It was Sander Berge who took fourth place and his rating was 7.39 out of ten.

Muric has won ten points towards the Up the Clarets Player of the Year with both Cullen and Vitinho getting five points. Assignon and Berge won one point each. Cullen has now moved into sixth place in the table which now has Berge 56 points clear at the top.

The next vote will come a week on Saturday after the Chelsea game. The Brentford result and the current player of the year table can be found below.


62% – Arijanet Muric
19% – Vitinho
8% – Josh Cullen
3% – Lorenz Assignon
3% – Sander Berge
2% – David Datro Fofana
1% – Dara O’Shea
1% – Charlie Taylor
1% – Zeki Amdouni & Jacob Bruun Larsen
0% – Wilson Odobert
0% – Maxime Estève


8.50 – Arijanet Muric
7.71 – Josh Cullen
7.68 – Vitinho
7.39 – Sander Berge
7.27 – Lorenz Assignon
7.06 – Jacob Bruun Larsen
6.92 – Charlie Taylor
6.90 – Maxime Estève
6.69 – David Datro Fofana
6.39 – Dara O’Shea
5.98 – Wilson Odobert
4.87 – Zeki Amdouni


121: Sander Berge
66: Lyle Foster
61: Dara O’Shea
58: James Trafford
54: Luca Koleosho
41: Josh Cullen
38: David Datro Fofana
37: Jordan Beyer
35: Charlie Taylor
29: Josh Brownhill
27: Wilson Odobert
22: Ameen Al-Dakhil & Arijanet Muric
21: Vitinho
15: Zeki Amdouni & Jóhann Berg Guðmundsson
14: Lorenz Assignon & Hannes Delcroix
11: Hjalmar Ekdal
8: Jacob Bruun Larsen & Anass Zaroury
7: Jay Rodriguez
5: Aaron Ramsey
4: Maxime Estève & Nathan Redmond

Follow UpTheClarets:

Share this page :