Share this page :

Sean Dyche made a number of changes for last Saturday’s FA Cup 3rd round tie at Sunderland and James Tarkowski, one of the players brought in, turned in a man of the match performance alongside acting captain Michael Keane in the centre of defence.

Tarkowski’s performance won him both the man of the match vote and the player ratings on Up the Clarets on a day when both Joey Barton, making his second debut, and Tendayi Darikwa picked up first points of the season.

In the man of the match vote, Tarkowski won it with 38%, ahead of Barton who had a 31% share. Behind those two in third and fourth places were Steven Defour and Tendayi Darikwa who won 12% and 6% of the vote respectively.

Three of those four made the top four places in the player ratings. Again Tarkowski has won it with a rating of 7.87 out of 10 and right behind him is his defensive partner Keane who had an equally good game; Keane’s rating was 7.67.

The central midfield pair of Barton and Defour couldn’t be split with both recording ratings of 7.50 out of 10 to jointly take third place.

This result has given Tarkowski the maximum ten points towards the Up the Clarets Player of the Year. Other points awarded for this game are five to Barton, four to Defour, three to Keane and one to Darikwa.

It has enabled Keane to reduce Ben Mee’s lead at the top to ten points and Defour has moved above Dean Marney to claim the current fifth place for himself.

The next vote will be on Saturday for the Premier League game against Southampton and will be underway around an hour after the final whistle.

The Sunderland result and the current player of the year table are below.


38% – James Tarkowski
31% – Joey Barton
12% – Steven Defour
6% – Tendayi Darikwa
4% – Nick Pope
3% – Michael Keane
1% – Stephen Ward
1% – Scott Arfield, Andre Gray & Johann Berg Gudmundsson
1% – Michael Kightly
0% – Sam Vokes


7.87 – James Tarkowski
7.67 – Michael Keane
7.50 – Joey Barton & Steven Defour
7.33 – Stephen Ward
7.00 – Nick Pope
6.50 – Scott Arfield
6.17 – Tendayi Darikwa
6.00 – Johann Berg Gudmundsson & Michael Kightly
5.83 – Andre Gray
5.17 – Sam Vokes


80: Ben Mee
70: Michael Keane
52: Tom Heaton
39: Jeff Hendrick
36: Steven Defour
32: Dean Marney

31: Ashley Barnes
25: Johann Berg Gudmundsson
19: Andre Gray
17: Stephen Ward
14: James Tarkowski
13: George Boyd
9: Scott Arfield
8: Sam Vokes
7: Matt Lowton, Aiden O’Neill & Paul Robinson
5: Joey Barton
1: Tendayi Darikwa, Jon Flanagan & Michael Kightly

Follow UpTheClarets:

Share this page :