Share this page :

Last Friday, we came from behind to beat West Brom 2-1 on the Turf, a win which extended our lead over the teams in the play-off places.

It was a night when midfielder Josh Cullen and wide man Anass Zaroury came out on top as our two best players on the night with Zaroury winning our man of the match and Cullen leading the way in the player ratings.

Zaroury polled 40% of the man of the match vote, ahead of Cullen who took second place with a 21% share. Nathan Tella, who scored our equaliser, was third with 13% and Charlie Taylor took fourth place with 6% of the vote.

Three of those four players were in the top four places in the player ratings with Cullen, this time, finishing first with a rating of 8.13 out of ten, beating Zaroury who scored 7.96. Ian Maatsen took third place with 7.51 and Taylor was again fourth with a rating of 7.38 out of ten.

It’s given both Cullen and Zaroury eight points towards the Up the Clarets Player of the Year award with two points each for Maatsen, Taylor and Tella. While having little effect on the top two, Zaroury has now moved eleven points clear in third place with players such as Jordan Beyer and Cullen in pursuit.

The next vote will be underway tomorrow afternoon following the FA Cup tie at Ipswich. The West Brom result and the current player of the year table are below.


40% – Anass Zaroury
21% – Josh Cullen
13% – Nathan Tella
6% – Charlie Taylor
5% – Jordan Beyer
4% – Arijanet Muric
3% – Ian Maatsen
3% – Josh Brownhill
2% – Ashley Barnes & Samuel Bastien
1% – Connor Roberts
0% – Manuel Benson & Jay Rodriguez


8.13 – Josh Cullen
7.96 – Anass Zaroury
7.51 – Ian Maatsen
7.38 – Charlie Taylor
7.36 – Arijanet Muric
7.26 – Connor Roberts
7.19 – Jordan Beyer
7.17 – Nathan Tella
6.98 – Ashley Barnes, Josh Brownhill & Jay Rodriguez
6.49 – Samuel Bastien
6.15 – Manuel Benson


105: Jack Cork
84: Manuel Benson
59: Anass Zaroury
48: Jordan Beyer
47: Josh Cullen
45: Nathan Tella
44: Ian Maatsen
41: Josh Brownhill
35: Taylor Harwood-Bellis
31: Charlie Taylor
28: Jóhann Berg Guðmundsson
23: Jay Rodriguez
22: Ashley Barnes
21: Arijanet Muric
20: Vitinho
19: Connor Roberts
10: Matt Lowton
8: Bailey Peacock-Farrell
7: CJ Egan-Riley
6: Samuel Bastien
3: Halil Dervişoğlu
2: Darko Churlinov & Luke McNally
1: Dara Costelloe

Follow UpTheClarets:

Share this page :